The 3rd Turnbull ministry arrives at long last

After a tedious election campaign and weeks of uncertainty following the July 2 poll, a confident and assertive Malcolm Turnbull announced his new ministry today. No space, however, could be found in the line-up for former Prime Minister, Tony Abbott.

During the campaign, Turnbull promised to deliver a stable government and has made every effort to avoid major changes. The Cabinet, therefore, remains largely the same. Deputy Leader, Julie Bishop, retains foreign affairs and George Brandis stays on as Attorney-General and Government Senate Leader. Key economic ministers lead by Scott Morrison as Treasurer and Mathias Cormann as Finance Minister can now progress their “jobs and growth” budget set out in May. Kelly O’Dwyer will be lending a hand not as Assistant Treasurer, but in a new role of “Revenue and Financial Services” and Steven Ciobo will continue in the Trade and Investment portfolio.

After a successful three years as Environment Minister, Greg Hunt moves to the Industry portfolio, vacated by Christopher Pyne who takes on a new role focusing on the Defence Industry. This will allow him to concentrate on key economic and employment issues in his home state of South Australia and put pressure on the State Minister for Defence Industries in the Weatherill Labor Government, former SA Liberal Leader, Martin Hamilton-Smith. However, Pyne will no longer be the most senior minister in his portfolio, reporting through Marise Payne.

Josh Frydenberg has taken on the Environment Portfolio and retained Energy, while the Resources part of his portfolio has been allocated to new Minister Matthew Canavan, alongside his Northern Australia portfolio.

Who is in and out in the federal ministry? The winners and losers:


  • Matt Canavan moves into Cabinet
  • Fiona Nash has role expanded
  • Luke Hartsuyker returns to the frontbench after being dumped last year
  • Zed Seselja has been promoted to assistant ministry from the backbench
  • David Gillespie has been promoted to assistant ministry from the backbench
  • Michael McCormack has been promoted from assistant minister to minister

On the move

  • Christopher Pyne moves to Minister for Defence industry
  • Kelly O'Dwyer loses small business but becomes Minister for Revenue and Financial Services
  • Greg Hunt moves from Environment to Industry
  • Josh Frydenberg adds Environment to his Energy porfolio
  • Scott Ryan will become Special Minister of State
  • Paul Fletcher will take on the ministry for urban infrastructure
  • Dan Tehan becomes Minister for Veteran’s Affairs

  • Richard Colbeck has been left out of the ministry given his re-election is not assured.
Click here to see the complete list.

The information on this page may have been provided by a contributor to ChinaGoAbroad, and ChinaGoAbroad makes no guarantees about the accuracy of any content. All content shall be used for informational purposes only. Contributors must obtain all necessary licenses and/or ownership rights from the relevant content owner(s) before submitting such content (including texts, pictures, photos and diagrams) to ChinaGoAbroad for publication. ChinaGoAbroad disclaims all liability arising from the publication of any content/information (such as texts, pictures, photos and diagrams that infringe on any copyright) received from contributors. Links may direct to third party sites out of the control of ChinaGoAbroad, and such links shall not be considered an endorsement by ChinaGoAbroad of any information contained on such third party sites. Please refer to our Disclaimer for more details.